top of page

Winchester Poetry Prize 2022


celebrating the best in new writing


We are pleased to be able to announce that the following poems have been selected by our judge Jo Bell
as the longlist for the 2022 Winchester Poetry Prize.

Freya Bantiff

Vicci Bentley

Roger Bloor

Nia Broomhall

Jeanette Burton

Emily Cooke

Pamela Crowe

Jenny Danes

David Day

Elaine Desmond

Philip Dunn

Martin Figura

Jim Green

Erica Hesketh

Rosie Jackson

Jenny Mitchell

Jenny Munro-Hunt

Jos Olive

Luke Palmer

Ben Rhys Palmer

Laura Theis

H M Truscott

Imogen Clare Wade

Jeremy Wikeley

Jonny Wiles

The Removal Process


Seen from the lakeside train

Nina, who is still here

The one thing we underestimate about our dogs

Missed Package Slip


Quality Snacks

John Clare makes headway in the snow


In memoriam: Chetan Sharma

Sunday 11 November 1956



Letter to Sharon Olds

Colonial Colour Chart


Yellow Jelly Babies at the Bottom of the Bag

Desire | Fathers


I went out today looking for wonder

Living ever after


The Sign Says Hungerford


The winners will be announced at a special prize-giving event on Saturday 8 October 2022 at the Arc (formerly Winchester Discovery Centre) as a part of the Winchester Poetry Day.


All are welcome to attend the prize-giving. Places are free but should be booked

Winning and commended poems will also be published in an anthology which will be published on the day and is available to pre-order via our online shop.



bottom of page


* indicates required